

450 – 1st Street S.W. Calgary, Alberta T2P 5H1 Direct Phone: (403) 920-7184 Fax: (403) 920-2347 email: celine belanger@transcanada.com

January 18, 2005

Alberta Energy and Utilities Board 640 - 5th Avenue S.W. Calgary, Alberta T2P 3G4 By Electronic Filing

Attention: Mr. Wade Vienneau Manager - Calgary Office, Utilities Branch

Dear Sir:

Re: NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) Informational Letter IL 98-4 Revised Revised Negotiated Settlement Guidelines (*Revised Guidelines*) 2005 Compliance Filing and Request to Negotiate

Pursuant to the Alberta Energy and Utilities Board's (Board) *Revised Guidelines* and the Board's letter dated August 28, 2003, regarding the application of the *Revised Guidelines* to NGTL, NGTL hereby applies for blanket approval to commence negotiations for 2005 on routine issues adopted by the TTFP. NGTL will apply separately for approval to negotiate non-routine issues as they are adopted by the TTFP throughout 2005.

The TTFP is a forum for industry stakeholders to influence natural gas transportation services on the Alberta System. The TTFP addresses issues that include, but are not limited to, the Alberta System's revenue requirement, service offerings, term and conditions of service, Gas Transportation Tariff, operating procedures, Annual Plan, facility design criteria and philosophy, and natural gas supply/demand forecasts.

Routine issues would typically include business process changes, procedures reviews, contracting practices, audits, and new services with small revenue requirement implications, the resolution of which would result in either a filing for information or an application for Board approval. Non-routine issues would include any issue with significant revenue requirement implications, rate design or cost accountability issues, the resolution of which would result in an application for Board approval.

January 18, 2005 Page 2 Mr. Wade Vienneau

Invitations to join the TTFP were published in the Calgary Herald, the Edmonton Journal, the Globe and Mail, and the Daily Oil Bulletin on Thursday December 9, 2004. In addition, members of the 2004 TTFP were provided copies of these notices by way of e-mail on December 9, 2004. Parties may join the TTFP at any time throughout the year.

In its letter dated August 28, 2003, the Board directed NGTL to provide the Board with a copy of the most recent public invitation to join the TTFP at the same time that NGTL requests approval to commence negotiations for the upcoming year. Further, the Board directed NGTL to provide the TTFP membership list as proof of negotiating authority. NGTL is complying with these directives by attaching to this letter a copy of the invitation to join the 2005 TTFP and a copy of the 2005 TTFP membership list as of January 12, 2005.

NGTL respectfully requests that the Board render a decision on this application by February 7, 2005 as the next meeting of the TTFP is scheduled for February 8, 2005.

Please direct all notices and communications regarding this matter to Carolyn Shaw by e-mail at carolyn_shaw@transcanada.com and alberta_system@transcanada.com, or by phone at 920-7172.

Yours truly, **NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd.** A wholly owned subsidiary of TransCanada PipeLines Limited

lihni bélanger

Céline Bélanger Vice President, Regulatory Services

Attachments (2)

cc: Tolls, Tariff, Facilities and Procedures Committee



Invitation to Join the 2005 Tolls, Tariff, Facilities & Procedures Committee

TransCanada PipeLines Limited, through its subsidiary NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL), invites interested and affected parties to join the Tolls, Tariff, Facilities & Procedures Committee (TTFP) for 2005.

The TTFP provides a forum for industry stakeholders to influence the natural gas transportation services delivered on NGTL's pipeline system. The TTFP addresses items that will need subsequent regulatory approval as well as broad operational issues. This includes, but is not limited to, NGTL's revenue requirement, service offerings, terms and conditions of service, Gas Transportation Tariff, operating procedures, Annual Plan, facility design criteria philosophy, and natural gas supply/demand forecasting methodologies.

Membership is open to any affected party that would directly experience implications of importance due to outcomes achieved by the TTFP. A non-regulatory government organization with active interests in NGTL's pipeline system and an individual or organization that represents a party or parties eligible for membership also all qualify for membership.

All TTFP meetings take place in Calgary, Alberta and are generally held monthly with invitations to participate on task forces to work specific issues as required.

While membership can be obtained at any time, parties interested in participating on the TTFP for 2005 are encouraged to respond in writing by mail, email or fax no later than Friday, December 31, 2004 to:

NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. 450 - 1 Street SW Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2P 5H1 Attention: Sharon Wright, Committee Coordinator Email: sharon_wright@transcanada.com Fax: 403-920-2384

If you require further information about the TTFP, please contact Gord Toews in Calgary at 403-920-5903.

() TransCanada

Tolls, Tariff, Facilities & Procedures Committee

2005 Membership List

COMPANY	NAME
Alberta Department of Energy	Jack Shaw
AltaGas Ltd.	Lynn Meyer
Anadarko Canada Corporation	Sherry Grimbly
Apache Canada Ltd.	Monica Arisman
ATCO Midstream	Lorraine Bolton
ATCO Pipelines	Ed Jansen
Bonavista Energy Trust	John Curkan
BP Canada Energy Company	Cheryl Worthy
Burlington Resources Canada Ltd.	Wendy Gazzard
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP)	Ritch Fairbairn
Canadian Natural Resources Limited	Susan Wills
Cargill Power & Gas Markets	John Maher
Chevron Canada Resources	Tim Houston
Cinergy Canada Inc.	John Gerwing
City of Medicine Hat	David Panabaker
ConocoPhillips Canada	Mike Baker
Coral Energy Canada Inc.	Tomasz Lange
CrossAlta Gas Storage & Service Ltd.	Martin Laznicka
Devon Canada Corporation	Glenn Smetheram
EnCana Corporation	Ken Hadley
Enstor, a Division of Pacificorp Energy Canada Ltd.	Hanneke Delen
Gas Alberta Inc.	David Symon
Glencoe Resources Ltd.	Harvey Nelson
Husky Energy Marketing Inc.	Derek Danyliw
Imperial Oil Resources	Ron Moore
Industrial Gas Consumers Association of Alberta (IGCAA)	Norm MacMurchy
Keyspan Energy Canada	Louise Dame
MGV Energy Inc.	Tim Bokenfohr
Navigo Energy Inc. c/o Phoenix Energy Marketing Consultants Inc.	David Maffitt
Nexen Marketing	Diane Cameron
NOVA Chemicals Corporation	Sonia Mah
Pacific Gas & Electric Company (PG&E)	David Ellerton
Paramount Resources Ltd.	Lydia Burgoyne
Petro-Canada Oil and Gas	John MacPherson
Prime West Energy Inc.	Elizabeth Lievers
ProGas Limited	Alice Roest
Shell Canada	Dana Page
Small Explorers and Producers Association of Canada (SEPAC)	Ron Vogel
Solex Development Corp.	Kevin Jabusch
Suncor Energy Marketing Inc.	Maurice Lapierre
Talisman Energy Canada	Colin Verges
Terasen Gas Inc.	David Ellerton
TransCanada PipeLines Ltd.	Gord Toews
TransGas Limited	Vernon Gorr
UBS Energy Canada Ltd.	Karla Laing
Union Gas Limited	Roger Mukherjee
Unocal Canada Limited	Richard MacDonald